Results tagged ‘ Arizona Fall League 2012 ’

That time of the year

There is a new Mehring Monday up on the main website.  It takes a look at the career Raul Ibanez and his home runs.

Speaking of Raul Ibanez, some interesting documents were found as the front office prepared to move over to the new office building – 2350 N. Casaloma, Suite 102.  Those documents are the scoresheets and long form boxscores from the first half of the 1994 Appleton Foxes season.  Ibanez, Alex Rodriguez, and a few other future major league players were part of that team.  I am still trying to figure out how to use them on the blog, but keep your eyes open on this space for a little bit more of Appleton Baseball History.

That time of the year – from the title of the post – would refer to the start of the Fall and Winter Leagues.  Arizona Fall, Dominican Winter, and Venezuela Winter have all started within the last week.  Australia and Puerto Rico will start soon.

As of now, 23 former Timber Rattlers have seen action in the three leagues that have begun play. 

Phoenix Desert Dogs:
Nick Bucci
Khris Davis
Brockk Kjeldgaard
Santo Manzanillo
Hunter Morris
Jimmy Nelson
Josh Prince

Peoria Javelinas:
Caleb Thielbar

Cardenales de Lara:
Edilio Colina
Jose Escalona
Ryan Feireabend
Jose Jimenez
Johan Limonta
Oswaldo Navarro

Navagantes del Magallanes:
Sean Halton
Carlos Maldonado

Bravos de Margarita:
Renee Cortez

Aquilas del Zulia:
Austin Bibens-Dirkx

Caribes de Anzoategui:
Mike Wilson

Aguilas Cibeanes:
Edward Paredes
Juan Sandoval

Leones del Escogido:
Taylor Green

Tigres del Licey:
Carlos Triunfel

No ex-Rattlers playing in the Mexican League that I could find.  I’ll update this list once Puerto Rico and Australia begin play.

Meanwhile, in the 2012 Arizona Fall League…

Brewers prospects – with several former Timber Rattlers – are playing for the Peoria Desert Dogs in the Arizona Fall League.  Action started on Tuesday with the Dogs beating the Phoenix Scorpions 4-3.

Ex-Rattlers in that game:
Khris Davis (’10): 0-for-2, 2 walks
Hunter Morris (’10): 0-for-3, 1 walk
Josh Prince (’09): 0-for-1
Kyle Heckathorn (’10): 2IP, H, 0R, 0BB, 2K, Winning Pitcher

Other former Rattlers to watch for in these games include:
RHP Nick Bucci (’10)
RHP Santo Manzanillo (’10, ’12)
RHP Jimmy Nelson (’11)
OF Brock Kjeldgaard (’09)

The Arizona Fall League schedule runs through November 15.

%d bloggers like this: